Graduation 2011

Our class of M.A. students. As good-looking as they are brainy.

Last week, the English department celebrated the achievements of our graduates with a Ph.D. hooding ceremony, a reception for MA and PhD students, a party for graduating seniors, and, of course, the Columbian College Celebration and Commencement.

This year, 12 students earned Departmental Honors in English: Chelsea Adler, Lauren Black, Joseph Hydoski, Karissa Lake, Zainob Lawal, Deborah Matteliano, Rebecca Mitchell, Amanda Panitch, Zachary Robbins, Andrew Roth, Troy Shamos, and Calder Stembel.

Congratulations, too, to our 2011 departmental prize winners:

The Astere E. Claeyssens Prize for the best original work in playwriting:
Samuel H. Fox Hartin

The DeWitt Clinton Croissant Prize for the best essay on drama or the theatre:
Rebekkah Meyer

The E. K. Cutter Prize for excellence in the study of English:
Tay Tufenkjian

The Alice Douglas Goddard Prize for the student earning the highest cumulative average in American literature courses:
Abigail Dimen-Taylor

‏ The Hassan Hussein Prize for the best theses in the English and Creative Writing Major:
Matthew Nelson-Teutsch (Fiction)
Matthew Mersky (Poetry)

The Student Poetry Contest for best poem:
Daria-Ann Martineau

The Vivian Nellis Memorial Prize for special promise in Creative Writing:
Zach Borenstein

The Sylvia S. Speck Prize in English Literature for exemplary academic achievement in English literature:
Taylor Tibbetts

The Academy of American Poets Prize:
Christina Beasley

Annie-Rose Strasser
(Honorarble Mention)

And here are more photos of the happy celebrants of this year’s graduating class:

Prof. Faye Moskowitz (left) read a poem at our celebration for graduating majors.
Prof. Robert Ganz (right) retired this year after more than 45 years at GW.

Prof. Robert McRuer (right), Deputy Chair, presided over the Departmental celebration.

Similar Posts